After about six-and-a-half hours, we were in Paris. For passport control, they asked us all to scan our passports at a machine, then scan your face, and it was automatically stamped for entry. Mine had a problem and I was told to move over to the manned checkpoints. No worries, they just checked things themselves, looked me over, and then stamped me in. No questions asked, which I thought was weird.
Next, we waited with others in the Viking Cruise group for everyone to get through and meet up, then boarded a bus for the hotel. Unfortunately, it took over 90 minutes! I think we hit at rush hour, plus there were about fifteen or more police vans coming through with sirens wailing. That certainly sent our bus abuzz.
Finally, check-in at the hotel. We're on the 30th floor--the very top, I think. The elevator key just scans your room card and then one of a bank of six elevators takes you to your floor. Never had that happen before. I can tell not many other have, either. The hotel staff--which is great--took care to explain the process to everyone. It sounds well-rehearsed, so they must do it a lot.
So, here are the first pics before lunch:
Our hotel
A yarn sculpture (!) in the lobby.
I walk around a corner and--BAM!--there's the Eiffel Tower.
The above pictures were taken when I was scoping the place out while Fe freshened up from the flight and bus ride. So when I got back, I had found a great place for lunch, the Crêperie Le Ty Breiz. I had a lemon crepe and an espresso, Fe had a Nutella with an americano. The place was also full of character, history, and nautical pieces from the Brittany area. Plus, I didn't hear a bit of English the whole time, except a bit from the staff--perfect!
I bought a couple of two-day passes at a metro station and then the obligatory stop at Hard Rock Cafe for the shot glass and magnet collections. No polo shirt--I guess I am getting old with my preference for an understated logo embroidered on the front.
Our planned stop at Sacré Coeur Basilica was next. This was a bit farther out in Montmartre and took a bit of walking and climbing stairs. Some pics from this leg:
Unfortunately, there seems to be a garbage workers' strike going on.
An Eau De Paris water fountain. These are scattered throughout the area.
View from the side. You don't see so many shots from this viewpoint.
Next we walked around the Montmartre neighborhood a bit. This was a really cool place--a lot of history, quieter, and (at least in this part) not as touristy.
Some street scenes, Montmartre
We had dinner in the area. And by this time, we were back in the touristy bit, so I was concerned--for the safety of my wallet, that is. We were walking through and looked at a restaurant's posted menu. A staff member came out to discuss some of the dishes--not pushy at all--and we decided to go in. I am glad we did. It was the La Petaudiere Restaurant. We shared a Beef Bourguignon, a plate of fries, a small glass of wine, a water, and a Normandy tarte (apple tart). The staff was great, the place--again--was full of interesting photos and history, and the price wasn't too bad, for Paris.
One more bit of a tourist must-see, the Moulin Rouge and neighborhood:
Everyone has seen this photo
Chocolate shop window
And I never miss a chance to post some subway art.
Monument to the dead of World War I, Richelieu-Drouot Station
Viking Joke #3: What is a Viking's favorite music? Ragnarock.
No comments:
Post a Comment